Happy Pride Month!

Hey all! I never realized that June was pride month until now. Maybe it’s because I haven’t been paying enough attention to news but that changes today. Especially since I’m journalism major! That would be bad wouldn’t it, me wanting to be a journalist but doesn’t pay attention to the news? Well, again I say, that’s about to change. Anyways, I wanted to say that it saddens me that people can be so cruel to the LGBTQ+ community and wanting to pretend they don’t exist. Well they do, we do exist in society.

I wonder why people want to separate society and the LGBTQ+ community as if they don’t belong? Either way, the LGBTQ+ community is not going anywhere and it’s time people treat us as such. I’m tired of hearing, “Oh, it’s just a phase.” Or, “I don’t think so,” and deny that I am apart of it. I have accepted myself and I will continue to not only love myself but love who I want to love.

I’m a bisexual woman but my sexuality isn’t the most fascinating thing about me. It’s time to stop judging others by their sexuality and get to know someone as a human being.

I’ve always known I was into guys and girls. I fell in love for the first time with a girl who didn’t like me in that way. It was heartbreaking and still to this day I’ve been trying to move past it. During that time I recognized my feelings were stronger than wanting to be friends. It was a feeling I didn’t think I could ever feel because I never felt that way with a man. I was ashamed at first for feeling that way because I didn’t know how my friends and family would react. I didn’t tell them I was Bi nor did I tell them about her. I went on YouTube and listened to people’s coming out stories and they were inspiring because despite how scared they were to come out, they never stopped being themselves. One of the YouTube videos that helped me accept myself was called Coming Out-The Official Song by Ally Hills. Ally Hills has honestly helped me come to terms and it’s like saying, “Hey, there isn’t anything wrong with feeling this way. You feel because you’re alive. You’re human and you’re a fantastic human.” Being in the LGBTQ+  community doesn’t mean that you as a person change. Love is love and it has no gender. Although society has always normalized heterosexuality, it isn’t the only type of love. Love should be recognized and celebrated no matter if it’s a man loving a man or a woman loving a woman. There’s nothing wrong with how you feel. What’s wrong is how society wants people in the community to feel ashamed for who they love. They shouldn’t be. Love is a beautiful thing, no matter who you live it with.

 

Leave a Reply

