The Season For Hibernation and Self-Evaluation

I’m told to never walk down the street alone. You never know what kind of people you’ll run into. But, I tend to do it anyways! I make sure to walk when it’s still light outside. Walking in the cold makes me feel as if there’s a friend right beside you, just waiting for you. I decided to not wait for life, instead to seek out new experiences and creative outlets.

Growing up, I felt like I never had enough time. Turns out, I was just bad at managing time.

I’ve been waking up at 5 A.M., reading a book, hyping myself up and getting ready to crush the day! I’m creating better habits for myself and it’s helping me grow as a person! I’m also finishing what I’ve started! Especially books, movies, and film cameras!

I’m using this time to hibernate and using this time to let my body rest. I’m also incorporating more books to read at night and finding new places to take photos! I’m re-evaluating how I speak to people and how I allow them to speak to me. I’ve grown a bit of a thicker skin now and I’m proud of myself.

I like to wind down at 9:30 P.M., so I can catch up on shows and books!

Here are some of my favorites that have kept me calm throughout this season.

1) A Sign Of Affection

Not only is this a cute book, but it’s also an anime! When I started reading the series, I was instantly hooked. I’m not usually into romantic mangas, but the storyline was so precious! It’s about a deaf, younger college student girl, Yuki, that meets an older college student, Itsuomi. Itsuomi wanted to learn sign language so he can communicate with Yuki and to explore her world. Spoiler alert: They eventually get together! Their journey is so wholesome that any age can enjoy it!

2) Best Fragrance Finds

Over the years, I have been collected fragrances. Not only are the bottles so beautifully made, but the scents are phenomenal. I’m talking about Chelsea Nights and Nomad, both from Bond No. 9. Normally, I don’t mix scents, but these two together are a powerful duo. On a random afternoon, I decided to check out Saks Fifth Avenue. I don’t usually shop from there, but the fragrance bottles are so stunning that I felt compelled to see what the scent is like.

As I was walking down the perfume aisle, Bond No. 9 bottles caught my eye. A kind salesperson asked if I was doing okay and I responded with, “Yes.” I explained that I wanted to try out new scents that were versatile in terms of seasons and places.

First, she let me smell Chelsea Nights. Immediately, my face lit up. This is a deep scent that works for any season! Initially, I smelled a mixture of gourmand and spicy scents. According to Bond No. 9’s website, the way this scent was described was so compelling. “Always gender-neutral, Chelsea Nights is for anyone who wants to make a statement and is looking for a good time. This bold new fragrance reflects the many aspects of its Manhattan destination with its blend of gourmand and oriental composition. And just like a decadent night out, it’s undeniably sexy. This statement-making fragrance is made to last a whole night out and will get you home safely in the wee hours of the morning.” The top notes are saffron and cocoa absolute. The middle notes are tuberose, myrrh resoid, cedarwood, and oud oil. The base notes are amber, vanilla, suede, and patchouli oil.

It is a sexy fragrance indeed! You can wear this anywhere! I enjoy wearing it, especially when I’m going to work. A lot of my co-workers enjoyed this scent as well! It’s bold but not an overpowering scent! I like to pair this with Nomad! Nomad balances it out with its light, juicy scent!

Bond No. 9’s description of Nomad is, “Capturing the free spirit of New York’s dreamy wanderers. A strong, sensual, statement-making oud, with modern fruity notes and luxurious amber” The notes are pear, quince, black currant, violet leaves, oud accord, rose, amber and vanilla! This combination is unstoppable. It makes me feel like a boss whenever I wear it. It lasts all day!

3) Capturing Photos on Film

I started shooting with film cameras in college. I loved the vintage look and feel of the camera and the photos. When you get it developed, it’s a wonderful surprise because you’ll never know how it’ll turn out! I’m currently using a Pentax IQZoom 160. I’m surprised it works well because I purchased it at a yard sale for only 2 bucks! What a steal! I enjoy shooting different types of photos such as candids, portraits and traveling!

Learning new things and meeting new people have been a blast! In addition to catching up on my current hobbies, I’m also branching out and meeting new people at photoshoots! Being able to hibernate is a liberating feeling because it gives your body and mind a chance to rejuvenate. I’ve been surrounding myself with people that inspire me. Hence, the art that I’m creating, whether it’s writing, shooting pictures, or dancing, it’s giving me a chance to see what else I can do.

Leave a comment